Vegetarian Yellow Thai Curry

WIA7648

Due to my busy work and grad school schedules, I have resorted back to my easy, go-to method for weekly meal prep: crockpot cooking. While I have experimented with pastas, stews, soups, and Indian curries in the slow cooker, I had not yet attempted any dishes influenced by Thai cuisine. Since I am a strong believer that anything can be made in a crockpot, I decided to try out a simple Vegetarian Yellow Thai Curry. Four hours later, when I opened the lid, I knew that my experiment had been a success! Lunches for the week, done. The recipe that I came up with can be found below, but don’t be afraid to play around with other ingredients (especially vegetables and proteins) that you have in your kitchens. As a side note to the hot pepper lovers out there: I tend to forgo spicy flavors due to my GERD issues, but if you like the heat, feel free to sprinkle cayenne pepper into the slow cooker when adding the rest of the seasonings.

WIA831A

Vegetarian Yellow Thai Curry

  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 large bell pepper, sliced
  • 32 ounce bag of frozen mixed vegetables (I used a California blend of broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots)
  • 1 cup of dried chickpeas, soaked and rinsed
  • 15 ounce can of light coconut milk
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon dried lemongrass
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  1. Combine all ingredients in slow cooker, and stir to evenly distribute spices.
  2. Cook on high, stirring occasionally, for 4-5 hours or until beans have softened.
  3. Serve over brown rice to make it a meal!

WIA799E

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Yellow Thai Curry

Leave a Reply

